The GPHF-Minilab™ - Protection Against Counterfeit Medicines

mlab_titel.jpg (36538 bytes)Due to an increase in the proliferation of fake and dodgy medicines and the individual and collective health risks associated with this phenomenon, drug quality control in the distribution systems of developing countries has become more and more important for consumer protection today. According to the latest research from the World Health Organization (WHO), 1 in 10 medical products circulating in developing countries is either substandard or falsified.

Under these circumstances, a greater number of samples have to be tested in order to maintain an appropriate assurance of drug quality and a high level of patient protection. Yet at the same time, pharmacopoeial analyses have become more and more expensive and only a few centers of excellence in some countries are currently available to perform them in the quantities required.

In order to bridge the capacity gap in regular drug quality monitoring on national level in low-income countries and in order to overcome limited access to regular drug quality testing of public, private and faith-based drug supplies, the Global Pharma Health Fund (GPHF) set out to develop and supply inexpensive field test kits with simple test methods for rapid drug quality verification and counterfeit medicines detection.

Rapid Counterfeit Medicines Detection anywhere in the World

mlab_test.jpg (8337 bytes) The GPHF-Minilab takes the basic drug testing scheme published by the World Health Organization (WHO) some thirty years ago into the 21st century. New test methods have been introduced, and supplied are not only operation manuals printed in different languages, but also a complete range of lab ware, starter kit chemicals and reference standards is included - all suitably packed for global shipment by air. Now, identification of counterfeit medicines containing wrong, too little, or no ingredients at all can be performed instantly anywhere in the world. Results obtained by a set of physical and chemical screening tests must match the product label claims for, at least, drug identity and content. If they do not match or results are inconclusive, then the appropriate batches can be frozen for further investigation in a fully-fledged lab.

Simple Drug Quality Verification in Four Steps

mlab_qual.jpg (8165 bytes) Verifying the quality of drugs using the GPHF-Minilab™ involves a four-level test scheme that employs very simple physical and chemical testing:

  1. A physical inspection scheme of dosage forms and associated packaging material for an early rejection of the more crudely presented counterfeits
  2. A quick check of the fill and total weight serves as an early indicator for the detection of false information related to the drug content
  3. A simple tablet and capsule disintegration test in order to verify label claims on enteric-coating and other modified-release systems
  4. Easy-to-use thin-layer chromatography as chemical test for a rapid verification of label claims regarding drug identity and content

Drug Quality Verification at Low Costs

GPHF-Minilabs contain the essential lab ware, chemicals, and a full range of control substances for reference purposes. Supplies include sufficient quantities in order to perform about 1000 assays while ensuring that the total material costs for one test run do not exceed three Euros.

A Complete Laboratory in One Suitcase

mlab_pic1kl.jpg (10010 bytes)
Click to Enlarge

A heavy-duty flight case contains the essential components - a full range of glassware for sample extraction, preparation, pipetting and spotting, high performance chromatographic plates, developing and detection chambers, electronic pocket balance, UV lamps with different wavelengths, a hot plate and calliper rules. Even pens and pencils are included.

In addition, the flight case contains a manual with simple operation procedures and a collection of reference samples for up to 100 active pharmaceutical ingredients. Reducing sciences to working practice and richly illustrated, the manual reads more like a cooking recipe than a complex instruction booklet. The manual’s method inventory is also available in French and Spanish. The suitcase is accompanied by a set of chemicals that allows the immediate use of Minilabs in any corner of the world.

Succesful Networking and Minilab Use

Priority disease programs frequently use GPHF-Minilabs to monitor the quality of essential medicines in malaria-, TB- and AIDS-endemic countries. Further multilateral support comes from the institutions and organisations of the United Nations family, such as the World Health Organisation (WHO), and beyond this, the Global Fund (GFATM). Bilateral support for the Minilab project work is mostly provided by programmes of the US Agency for International Development Cooperation (USAID), e.g. the Promoting the Quality of Medicines (PQM) programme currently implemented by the US Pharmacopeial Convention (USP). Over the years, in cooperation with the local authorities, the quality of medicines in various segments of the pharmaceutical supply chain has been repeatedly monitored in sub-Saharan Africa and Southeast Asia and, as a result, with support by the International Criminal Police organisation INTERPOL, millions of falsified malaria tablets without active ingredients have already been intercepted.

Within international development cooperation, additional support for the use of GPHF-Minilabs comes from governmental and non-governmental health projects, e.g. from Great Britain (Crown Agents), Switzerland (Swiss Tropical and Public Health Institute), Belgium (BTC/CTB) and Germany (GIZ). Non-governmental organisations as well as faith-based and university institutions, mostly from Germany complement government interventions to combat falsified and substandard medicines and use GPHF-Minilabs for their own health services, hospitals and research projects (DIFÄM, MMI Würzburg, Action Medeor, German Doctors, Tubingen University).

minilab_5.jpg

Other Minilab users are, for example, public drug procurement agencies and faith-based drug supply organisations in Nicaragua and Bolivia, medicines regulation authorities in Indonesia and Papua New Guinea, consumer protection institutions in India and Pakistan, diocesan hospitals in Ghana and Cameroon, scientific societies and business institutions in Laos and Thailand as well as the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation (BMGF) in cooperation with the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine (LSHTM) for rolling back malaria projects in East Africa.

Overall, well above 800 Minilabs have been supplied to almost 100 countries out of which Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar and Tanzania adopted the technology for post-marketing antimalarial drug quality monitoring already.

Das GPHF-Minilab® - Schutz vor gefälschten Arzneimitteln

mlab_titel.jpg (36538 bytes)Angesichts der sprunghaft gestiegenen Zahl von Arzneimittelfälschungen und den damit einhergehenden Gesundheitsgefahren spielt die Überwachung der Arzneimittelversorgung zum Schutze der Verbraucher gerade in den Entwicklungsländern eine immer wichtigere Rolle. Studien der Weltgesundheitsorganisation (WHO) belegen, dass in den Entwicklungsländern im Durchschnitt 10 von 100 Arzneimittel gefälscht oder von erheblich minderer Qualität sind.

Unter diesen Bedingungen bedarf es einer vermehrten Zahl von Prüfungen, um die Arzneimittelsicherheit für den Verbraucher auch weiterhin garantieren zu können. Angesichts der komplizierten und teuren Testmethoden moderner Arzneibuchanalytik gibt es in den Entwicklungsländern aber kaum Einrichtungen, die diese Aufgaben in der benötigten Intensität bewältigen können.

Zur Überwindung von Engpässen bei den Arzneimittelüberwachungsbehörden als auch bei staatlichen, privaten und kirchlichen Arzneimittelversorgungseinrichtungen in den Entwicklungsländern mit beschränktem Zugang zu entsprechenden Prüfmethoden entwickelte der Global Pharma Health Fund e.V. (GPHF) daher das Konzept des mobilen Kompaktlabors zur schnellen Erkennung von Arzneimittelfälschungen und stellt es seither für alle öffentlichen und privaten Gesundheitsdienste preiswert zur Verfügung.

Schnelle Erkennung von Arzneimittelfälschungen überall auf der Welt

mlab_test.jpg (8337 bytes) Das Minilab des Global Pharma Health Funds ist eine wesentliche Weiterentwicklung der „WHO Basic Tests“ und bringt neben mehrsprachigen Handbüchern zusätzlich die komplette Ausrüstung inkl. Chemikalien und Referenzstandards in flugversandfertiger Verpackung für den weltweiten Einsatz mit. Arzneimittelfälschungen, die den falschen, keinen oder zu wenig Arzneistoff enthalten, können nun an jedem Ort der Erde nachgewiesen werden. Hierzu werden die Ergebnisse der Schnelltests im Hinblick auf Identität und Gehalt mit den Angaben auf der Arzneimittelpackung verglichen. Liegt keine Übereinstimmung vor oder ist sie unschlüssig, wird das betroffene Arzneimittel für eine vertiefende Untersuchung in einem Volllabor unter Quarantäne gestellt.

Einfache Prüfung von Arzneimitteln in vier Schritten

Die Prüfung der Qualität von Fertigarzneimitteln durch das GPHF-Minilab® erfolgt im Rahmen eines vierstufigen Prüfschemas, das sich sehr einfacher physikalischer und chemischer Analysetechniken bedient: mlab_qual.jpg (8165 bytes)

  1. Eine schnelle Sichtung der Arzneimittel auf äußerliche Auffälligkeiten an der Arzneiform, Verpackung und den Lieferpapieren zur frühen Ausmusterung grober Fälschungen
  2. Eine schnelle Prüfung von Füll- und Gesamtgewicht als Frühindikator zur Erkennung von Falschangaben zum Arzneimittelgehalt
  3. Eine Überprüfung der Etikettenangaben hinsichtlich eines schnellen oder verzögerten Zerfalls von Tabletten und Kapseln
  4. Ein einfacher dünnschichtchromatografischer Test zur schnellen Prüfung der Etikettenangaben hinsichtlich Identität und Gehalt

Qualitätsprüfung von Arzneimitteln zu geringen Kosten

GPHF-Minilabs enthalten alle notwendigen Labormaterialen, Chemikalien und Referenzproben in ausreichender Menge zur Durchführung von circa 1000 Analysen, wobei die Materialkosten pro Testlauf bei ungefähr drei Euro liegen.

Ein komplettes Labor in einem Koffer

mlab_pic1kl.jpg (10010 bytes)
Anklicken zum Vergrößern

Der robuste Koffer enthält alle wichtigen Bausteine wie z.B. einen vollständigen Satz an Glas- und Volumenmessgeräten zur Probenextraktion und -aufbereitung, hochwirksame Chromatografierplatten, Trenn- und Detektionskammern, UV-Lampen mit unterschiedlichen Wellenlängen, elektronische Taschenwaage und Heizplatte. Selbst Bleistift und Filzschreiber wurden nicht vergessen.

Darüber hinaus enthält der Koffer ein Handbuch mit einfachen Verfahrensanweisungen und Referenzproben für bis zu 100 Arzneimittelwirkstoffe. Das Handbuch ist erhältlich in Englisch, Französisch und Spanisch und ist, der Wissenschaft entführt, reich bebildert und aufbereitet wie ein Kochbuch. Begleitet wird der Koffer von einem einem vollsständigen Satz an Referenzmuster und Chemikalien, der den sofortigen Einsatz von Minilabs überall auf der Welt erlaubt.

Erfolgreiche Kooperationen und Minilab-Einsätze

Minilabs werden bevorzugt im Rahmen vorrangiger Gesundheitsprogramme der zwischenstaatlichen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit zur Überwachung der Qualität unentbehrlicher Arzneimittel für Malaria, Tuberkulose und AIDS eingesetzt. Multilaterale Unterstützung kommt von den Institutionen und Organisationen der Vereinten Nationen, wie der Weltgesundheitsorganisation (WHO) und darüber hinaus dem Global Fund (GFATM). Die bilaterale Unterstützung der Minilab-Projektarbeit erfolgt hauptsächlich durch Programme der US-Agentur für internationale Entwicklungszusammenarbeit (USAID), z.B. das Promoting the Quality of Medicines (PQM) Programm, das derzeit vom US amerikanischen Büro für Arzneimittelnormen und Standards, der US Pharmacopeial Convention (USP), umgesetzt wird. Im Laufe der Jahre wurde in Zusammenarbeit mit den lokalen Behörden die Qualität von Arzneimitteln in verschiedenen Segmenten der pharmazeutischen Lieferkette in Subsahara-Afrika und Südostasien wiederholt überwacht, so dass mit Unterstützung der internationalen Kriminalpolizei INTERPOL bereits Millionen gefälschter Malariatabletten ohne Wirkstoffe abgefangen werden konnten.

Im Rahmen der internationalen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit wird der Einsatz von GPHF-Minilabs zusätzlich durch staatliche und nichtstaatliche Gesundheitsprojekte unterstützt, z.B. aus Großbritannien (Crown Agents), der Schweiz (Swiss Tropical and Public Health Institute), Belgien (BTC/CTB) und Deutschland (GIZ). Nichtregierungsorganisationen sowie kirchliche und universitäre Einrichtungen, meist aus Deutschland, ergänzen staatliche Maßnahmen zur Bekämpfung gefälschter und minderwertiger Arzneimittel und nutzen die GPHF-Minilabs für eigene Gesundheitsdienste, Krankenhäuser und Forschungsprojekte (DIFÄM, MMI Würzburg, Action Medeor, German Doctors, Universität Tübingen).

minilab_5.jpg

Weitere Minilab-Anwender sind z.B. staatliche und kirchliche Beschaffungsstellen für Arzneimittel in Nicaragua und Bolivien, Zulassungsbehörden für Arzneimittel in Indonesien und Papua Neuguinea, Verbraucherschutzorganisationen in Indien und Pakistan, Diözesan- und Krankenhausapotheken in Ghana und Kamerun, Wissenschaftsverbände und Wirtschaftsinstitute in Laos und Thailand sowie die Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation (BMGF) in Zusammenarbeit mit der London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine (LSHTM) im Rahmen der Malariabekämpfung in Ostafrika.

Insgesamt gingen weit mehr als 800 Minilabs in fast 100 Länder, wobei sie in Kambodscha, Laos, Myanmar und Tansania bereits Bestandteil der amtlichen Überwachung des Arzneimittelmarktes gerade im Hinblick auf gängige Medikamente zur Behandlung der Malaria sind.